Five years since the release of the universally-acclaimed Omnivium, Germany’s progressive metal masters OBSCURA are poised to return with their strongest and most dynamic release to date. The aptly-named Akroasis(Greek for “hearing” or “listening“) draws on all the various elements of OBSCURA‘s signature sound and combines those qualities into a mind-blowing and cohesive whole.

Produced by the band and V. Santura (Triptykon, Pestilence), Akroasis is eight songs diverse enough to serve as a near-comprehensive introduction to all of extreme metal. Packed to the gills with virtuosic musicianship, compelling themes, and airtight songwriting, OBSCURA will undoubtedly breathe new life into death metal, progressive metal and beyond.
On May 1st the official bass tablature book of Akróasis will be released.
“I am very proud to present the first-ever bass tablature book of Obscura! Every single note is written down by myself in the way I played it on the album. The bass tracks are recorded with a seven string bass and a six string bass tuned one step down. It is possible to use a six string bass for all bass lines on the album. This is the reason why all notation in this book is written down for a six string setup. With a 5 string bass you should be able to play most of the material as well.” – Linus Klausenitzer

The bass book will be available at Obscura’s online shop and on tour exclusively.

Akroasis Bass Tablature Book